North-east of Figueres, the small medieval town of Peralada is located in the middle of a rural region dedicated to viticulture. In front of the village, on the south side flows the Llobregat which flows further into the Muga.
On the other hand, its rich cultural heritage as a county and center of an old jurisdiction, brings an added attraction to the visit. The Cultural Centre of Domenéc presents as the centre of its exhibition the cloister of the former convent Sant Domenèc de Peralada dating from the 12th and 13th centuries. The private cloister of the convent shows on the columns and capitals, scenes of the Bible and animals with great expression. The symbol of Peralada is the Castel de Peralada Castle, a master property with two remarkable x-room towers and a park with century-old trees. This ancient residence of the Counts of Peralada was built in the 14th century, and at the end of the 16th century transformed into a residential palace when Francesc Jofre de Rocaberti received from Philipp III the title of Count of Peralada.
Today, the property is private and not visited. However, part of the castle is home to the elegant casino, and the castle park is opened in July and August for the "Internacional de Msica de Peralada" festival. The palace is connected by a footbridge to the Gothic convent, located across the street.
Across the street is the entrance to the Convent del Carme with the Museo del Castillo de Peralada. In this convent, which was built in the 14th century in the Gothic style, is exhibited the Suqué -Mateu collection, one of the most important collections of Catalan art.
The visit to the museum begins with the impressive library where 80,000 volumes are archived, from the old book to the most recent, among others a collection of 1000 pieces published since the 9th century of Don Quijote.